Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

No1 Gist Hub

Why OBJ, Jonathan, Other Former Leaders Boycotted May 29, June 12 – Shehu Sani

Shehu Sani, a former lawmaker from Kaduna State, has revealed why former leaders in the country recently boycotted state functions.

Former leaders in the country often grace important state functions in the country especially May 29 celebrated as democracy day.

The aforementioned date for the celebration was recently changed to June 12 by President Muhammadu Buhari following his proposal to the National Assembly which endorsed it to commemorate late MKO Abiola, presumed winner of the 1993 presidential election which was annulled by the military at the time.

On May 29, Mr Buhari took the oath of office which ushered him into his second and final term as a democratic president. The occasion although toned-down, was attended by a former Head of State, Yakubu Gowon.

Past leaders who were absent at the oath-taking ceremony includes: former presidents, Olusegun Obasanjo and Goodluck Jonathan; former military leaders, Abdulsalami Abubakar and Ibrahim Babangida.

But on Wednesday, June 12, both the past democratic and military leaders, including Mr Gowon who attended the president’s oath-taking ceremony, stayed away from the celebration.

POLITICS TIMES as at press time could not independently ascertain why the former leaders stayed away from the functions they ought to be present but the former lawmaker says the absence of the former leaders might signifies a bad omen.

He said the leaders decided to stayed away from the occasions because Mr Buhari during his days in the opposition do not attend similar events.


Disqus Comments

Ads Banner